Pinterest 2015: 4 important changes

Pinterest’s algorithm has undergone many changes, but what does that mean exactly? To get answers, we met with @Celinab, children’s fashion blogger, 42nd-ranked pinner in the world, and Boite à Contenu collaborator.

Celina’s been pinning ever since Pinterest launched in 2010. She initially signed up out of pure curiosity. As an avid fan of newspaper clippings, it seemed a natural fit. “Pants” file, “jackets” file, Celina’s been cutting out magazine clippings since forever.

Her stats:

More than 20,000 pins/year

More than 150 pins/day

More than 3 million followers

Here are 4 recent concrete changes she’s noticed:

1. Binge pinning is no longer discouraged. It used to be criticized as pins were displayed in chronological order but since they’ve stopped doing that (kind of like Facebook), you can now pin as you please.

2. Using keywords in your descriptions is crucial. Polish your presentations and use SEO techniques for your pin descriptions (think referencing). Pinterest’s search engine favours keywords and key phrases.

3. « Picked for you » is Pinterest’s new way of suggesting content to users based on their interests (meaning cookies). Content is displayed based on your most recent searches.

4. No more affiliated posts. Bitly links no longer work as Pinterest treats them as spam. Be careful which links you use and make sure they’re clear!

* If you haven’t already done so, be sure to make a business page on Pinterest. They come with many exclusive features!

What about you? Have you noticed any changes?

Tags:
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Pinterest 2015 : 4 changements importants (vus par notre pro)

On dénote plusieurs changements dans l’algorithme de Pinterest en 2015. Mais qu’est-ce qui a évolué concrètement? Rencontre avec @Celinab, blogueuse mode pour enfants, 42e pinneuse (épingleuse) au monde et collaboratrice chez Boite à Contenu.

Celina épingle depuis le lancement de Pinterest en 2010. Elle s’est d’abord abonnée par pure curiosité. Fervente adepte de coupures de journaux, ça allait de soi. Dossier « pantalons », dossier « vestes », Celina découpe des bouts de magasines depuis toujours.

Ses statistiques :

+ de 20 000 pins/année

+ de 150 pins/jour

+ de 3 millions de followers

Voici 4 changements concrets et récents remarqués par la célèbre épingleuse, @Celinab :

1. Le « binge pinning » n’est plus à proscrire. En effet, avant on critiquait les épingleurs qui publiaient en masse, en groupe. Maintenant, comme la chronologie n’est plus mise de l’avant (un peu comme sur Facebook), on peut donc s’adonner au binge pinning sans problème.

2. Les descriptions avec des mots clés sont centrales. Soignez vos présentations et favorisez les techniques SEO pour les descriptions de vos épingles (pensez référencement!). Pinterest a un moteur de recherche qui met l’emphase sur les mots/expressions clés!

3. « Picked for you » est la nouvelle façon de Pinterest de proposer aux utilisateurs des contenus en fonction de vos intérêts (on entend cookies ici). On vous présente des contenus en fonction de vos plus récentes recherches…

4. Fini les « Affiliated posts ». Les liens bitly sont à proscrire car Pinterest les catégorise comme du spam. Faites attention aux liens que vous mettrez de l’avant et assurez-vous qu’ils soient bien clairs!

* Et… si ce n’est pas déjà fait, assurez-vous d’avoir une page « entreprise » sur Pinterest. Beaucoup de fonctionnalités y sont offertes exclusivement!

Et vous, avez-vous noté des changements?

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.